Andrei Pavel

artist, nu blogger…

Interview with Jade E. Henderson

Picture

Ce te-a influenţat să începi să pictezi?

Am început cu nişte schiţe când eram mică, desenând pentru a-mi completa poveştile. De fapt, făceam schiţe după tot ce vedeam: arbori, animale… Până la urmă nu era suficient.  Vroiam să dau viaţă desenelor, să aibă substanţă aşa că am început să adaug culoare. Sora mea mi-a cumpărat un album de Boris Vallejo şi de atunci am început să pictez.

De unde te inspiri?

De peste tot din jurul meu. Adesea visele sunt cele care îmi aprind scânteia. Mi-ar plăcea să pictez lumea în care îmi doresc să trăiesc, viaţa mea ar trebui să fie o poveste. Şi filmele mă inspiră, legendele, istoria… muzica, în special prin trupele „metal” care au povestiri epice descrise atât de frumos. Logodnicul meu compune muzică iar atmosfera este mereu creativă. Pot spune că şi fotografii sunt interesanţi. Sunt atâtea moduri în care un fotograf reuşeşte să surprindă peisaje dramatice şi întinderi de apă- aşadar atunci când îmi imaginez o pictură în minte, o văd ca şi când aş fi un fotograf făcând poze cu noile sale tehnici.

Cum te-ai hotărât sa alegi stilul de lucru?

Nu cred că am luat o decizie conştientă, pur şi simplu am vrut să spun poveşti, să inspir imaginaţia privitorului pentru ca el să viseze la propriile poveşti dar pentru asta trebuie mai întâi să îl invit în propria mea lume pe care ei să o înţeleagă şi să se simtă legaţi de ea. Sper că picturile mele vor fi destul de realiste pentru ca privitorul să recunoască în ele totul dar şi atmosfera care să îi trezească sentimente.

Ai pictat o miniatură, ulei pe lemn. Am fost impresionat de detalii. Cum ţi-a venit ideea şi mai ales răbdarea?

A fost o provocare pentru mine, să văd dacă pot să o fac. Am văzut miniaturi înainte şi am fost mereu impresionată de ele. Recomand oricărui artist să încerce, este un ajutor pentru picturi mai mari. Te obligă să te concentrezi pe suprafeţele mici şi să îţi aminteşti că fiecare parte a tabloului este importantă!
Cât despre răbdare- nu ştiu de unde am avut, dar la final îmi simţeam ochii încrucişaţi.

La desenele în tuş ai menţionat că te-au inspirat lucrările lui Giuseppe Archimboldo. De ce ai ales personajele construite din cărţi?

M-am gândit că ar fi distractiv mai ales ca îmi plac cărţile foarte mult. Am inclus în imagine poezie nordică şi citate latine iar personajul îmi aminteşte de bunicul meu.

Ce metodă abordezi în pictură?

De cele mai multe ori am o idee vagă dar fac o schiţă şi dacă am vreo dificultate cu vreun fragment caut referinţe. Este important să fac o schiţă înainte de a picta, altfel nu pot picta. Îmi ia ceva timp până semnez o lucrare pentru că nu sunt mereu mulţumită de rezultat dar mă gândesc că dacă am fi mulţumiţi de fiecare tablou făcut unde ar mai fi dorinţa de a ne perfecţiona?

Galeria artistului: http://vj-helm.deviantart.com/

miniatura

EN

What made you start painting?

I began sketching as a child, drawing pictures to accompany my stories. I would also sketch from life…trees, animals, whatever I saw. Eventually that wasn’t enough. I wanted to bring my sketches to life, for them to have more substance, so I started adding colour. My sister bought me a Boris Vallejo book, and from that I began painting.

Where do you get your inspiration?

From all around me. Often my dreams ignite the spark. I like to paint the world that I would like to live in, should my life be a story, and the characters that inhabit that world. Movies also inspire me, and myth, legend and history. Music is also very inspiration to me, especially metal as many bands sing of epic stories and describe them so beautifully. My fiance also composes music, and the atmosphere of them is always inspirational.
I also find photographs inspirational. There are so many new techniques that enable a photographer to capture very dramatic land and seascapes – so when I visualise my painting, I visualise it as if it is a photographer taking a photo with their new techniques (i.e. HDR)

How does it make you decide on what kind of art you want to do?

I don’t think I’ve ever made a conscious decision about the kind of art I do. In my art I want to depict stories, to inspire the viewers own imagination so that they can dream of their own stories. In order to do this, I have to invite them into my own world, but it has to be a world they can understand and relate to. I hope my paintings are realistic enough so that the viewer can recognise everything, but also have atmosphere so that it can still evoke feelings.

You painted a miniature, oil on wood. I was impressed by it’s details. How come you had this idea and especially the patience?

Basically, it was just to see if I could do it. I’ve seen miniature paintings before and have always been impressed by them. I recommend to any artist that they should all try it, its a big learning curve and helps with your larger paintings, forces you to concentrate on smaller areas and remember that every part of your painting is important!
As for the patience – I don’t know where that came from, but I was definately cross-eyed by the time I had finished.

I also noticed the wall you painted with acryls. How much took you to paint it? And the size also…

It didn’t take too long because thankfully acrylics are fast drying so I didn’t have to wait around. I was painting the miniatures at the same time so I can’t remember exactly how much of the day was spent on the background, probaly about 15 hours all up for the painting. It is not too big, approx 30cm x 90cm.

On the ink drawings i know that you got inspired by the painter Giuseppe Archimboldo. Why making the character from books?

He also has drawn characters from books, and I have seen other artists emulate this as well. I thought it would be fun to draw, as I love books, and could indulge in my own favourite things. I also included some viking poetry and Latin quotes in it. The character really reminds me of my late grandfather too.

What’s your approach to painting, the method you use?

Usually I get an inkling for an idea. I sketch it out, and if I find I am having any difficulty with any parts, I look for a reference. It is important that I do a proper sketch before I paint. My paintings don’t work otherwise. I transfer my drawing to the canvas and seal the lead in with diluted oil paint. After that’s dry, I begin painting the background. Lately my backgrounds have been a duller colour than what is in the foreground, an effect I like alot. To speed up drying time I add Liquin to my paint. Then I paint the main subject, usually in a more vivid colour. After this, I generally find that my paintings are too bright, so I add more shadows and dark washes over them to tone them down. I guess that is all part of the learning curve. It usually takes me a while to sign my painting, as I’m never fully happy with the outcome. But, I figure, if you were happy with every single painting you did, there’d never be any room to improve.

More images at: http://vj-helm.deviantart.com/

Filed under: Interviews, , , ,

One Response

  1. Trackback says:

    Comentario…

    [..]Articulo Indexado Correctamente[..]…

Leave a Reply

