Andrei Pavel

artist, nu blogger…

Interview with Francisco Moreno

Picture

După atâtea desene ai găsit drumul către maturitatea ta artistică. Cum ai ajuns la felul acesta de a picta?

Mă străduiesc cu fiecare linie pe care o fac, fie că este făcută cu o pensulă sau cu un creion. Picturile mele s-au născut din toată această luptă şi îmi place ca lucrările mele să reflecte acest lucru.

De exemplu, nu pot sa desenez perfect [Dali a spus odată: „nu îţi face griji în ce priveşte perfecţiunea, nu o vei atinge niciodată] aşa că mă ajut de linii şi sectoare pentrua-mi proiecta desenele pe pânză. Îmi place să mă folosesc de linii dar le fac foarte groase ca să se vadă, devenind astfel o provocare pentru a le integra în imaginea respectivă care accentuează efortul cu care acea imagine a fost creată. Am descoperit recent ca imaginea în sine nu contează foarte mult până la urmă. Nu urmăresc perfecţiunea ci mai degrabă să surprind un sentiment, un sens, o emoţie. Nu prea îmi pasă dacă un cap e prea mic sau un picior e prea lung. Pentru mine este vorba de expresie şi de a transmite privitorului suficientă informaţie.

Picturile tale sunt mult mai mult decât desenele. Ce te-a împins să mergi mai departe?

Desenele sunt un exerciţiu care se bazează mai degrabă pe explorarea materialului decât pe concept. La un desen eşti nevoit să reproduci realist după model. Nu prea îmi place asta. Spre deosebire de desen, pictura devine mai personală. Sunt eu în faţa pânzei şi nimic altceva aşa că ajung să mă dedic mai mult picturii.

Mărimea pânzei îţi schimbă viziunea?

Da, este un motiv în plus sa îmi placă mai mult pictura faţă de tehnicile digitale. Cât despre o pânză de dimensiuni mari, te poate seduce şi hipnotiza. Îmi place să evadez în ceea ce fac iar pânzele mari îmi permit să fac asta. Pregătesc o serie mare pentru anul acesta şi sper să lucrez undeva pe la 180x 250 cm.
De asemenea, sunt o persoană nerăbdătoare şi când lucrez picturi mai mici devin frustrat  fiindcă este dificil să lucrezi detalii pe zone mici. Luxul de a picta la dimensiuni mari îţi oferă libertatea de a fi mai detaşat.

Spune-mi mai multe despre tine şi despre arta ta.

Mare parte din îndemânare se datorează exersării. Singurul lucru învăţat de la altcineva este conceptul care pentru mine este cel mai important aspect al picturii. Odată ce înţelegi ce faci, pictura devine mai puternică.
Gândurile pe care nu pot sa le exprim altfel se reflectă prin pictură. Am învăţat sa creez mereu, să prind frumuseţea ascunsă a lumii ar inima mea să o recreeze în desene pentru că altfel s-ar irosi. Crescând 6 ani in Mexico City până m-am mutat în Texas şi călătorind în Spania am avut şansa să văd arta din mai multe perspective. Am ajuns la o observaţie referitoare la interacţiunile dintre oameni şi diferenţele culturale şi care mă ajută să mă exprim. Astfel, ajung la contactul privitorului cu arta mea şi desigur a relaţiilor dintre personajele create.

Galeria artistului: http://www.artefrancisco.com/Site/Home/Home.html sau http://se-roxican.deviantart.com/

francisco

EN
After all those studies you found a way to your artistic maturity. How you discovered this kind of painting?

I struggle with every stroke I make, whether it be one with a paintbrush or with a pencil. My paintings were born through all these struggles. I like for my work to reflect that. If you look at my painting, Untitled 5, you can see these struggles. For example, I cannot draw perfectly( Dali once said “don’t worry about perfection, you will never reach it”), so I use the grid system to project my image onto my canvas (182.88 cm x 243.84 cm). Now, I like embracing that, so I drew my grid with very thick lines so that it would show. But you can see that I didn’t leave the grid completely there. I did this because I didn’t want for the grid to be the most important part, so it then became a challenge for me to incorporate this grid into my piece, which only accentuates the struggle of creating this piece. I have recently discovered that the imagery isn’t that important for me. It is not about perfection, but more about capturing a feeling, a sense, an emotion. I don’t really care if a head is too small or a leg too long. To me, it is about expression. It is about giving an audience just enough information.

The set you worked so much is so much more than the drawings. What pushed you to do that?

I take it you are talking about my life drawings? My drawings are practice. They are exercises. They rely more on draftsmanship and exploration of material rather than concept. When drawing from life, one has to rely on a model. I don’t like that. My most recent paintings were done from my mind, except for untitled 5, which I referenced a Burne Hogarth drawing. But even then, it is not about the drawing, for I cannot draw like hogarth. It becomes more about the feeling that that drawing made me feel and how I can go about communicating that. On my paintings, it becomes more personal. It is just me and the canvas, nothing else. I like working on more personal paintings, so I usually end up dedicating more time to them.

Does the size of the canvas change your visions?

Yes, that is why I like traditional over digital painting. There is something about a large canvas that can engulf you, seduce you, hypnotize you. I like escaping into my art and big canvases allow me to do that. I am currently planning a really big series that will be done this year. I hope to make all of them around 182.88 cm x 243.84 cm.
I am also not a very patient person, and when I have to work with smaller paints i get really frustrated because it is hard for me to give detail to really small sections. The luxury of working large is the liberty to be more loose and not so precise.

Tell me some more about you and your artwork.

Most of my skill has been self taught. Practice practice practice! What I have been taught is the concept. It, to me, is the most important part of a painting. Once one understands what he or she is doing when they are making art, their work only grows stronger.

I am able to confidently proclaim my love for art; both as an entity and also as my venue of expression. It is through art that I am able to unabashedly and brazenly spill forth everything that I have trouble communicating. The thoughts and feelings which I am at a loss of words for, that I continually have trouble conveying through writing and verbalization; I have found the appropriate outlet in my art. I have resolved to dedicate myself to art. It is what I have always been passionate about, and since I had started to give up on it, I felt so bland and purposeless. I have learned to keep creating, retrain my eyes to catch hidden beauty in the world around me, my heart to create beauty on paper. If I’ve been given these innate gifts, as I’ve been told, I won’t waste them. Growing up in Mexico City for six years, subsequently making the move to Texas, and traveling to Spain to view artistic cultural differences has given me the opportunity to view the world of art through many different perspectives. One fascinating observation which I have made, paralleled within every culture and region of the world, is that of human relationships and interactions. It is the notion of these human interactions that the totality of my art focuses on. I like to think that this is achieved through either the interaction of the person with my painting, or by observing the interaction between the subjects within my painting.

More images at: http://www.artefrancisco.com/Site/Home/Home.html or http://se-roxican.deviantart.com/

Filed under: Interviews, , , , ,

One Response

  1. Trackback says:

    Comentario…

    [..]Articulo Indexado Correctamente[..]…

Leave a Reply

