Andrei Pavel

artist, nu blogger…

Interview with Asha Nagaiva

Picture

Când ai început sa te ocupi de bijuterii?

În decembrie 2005. Am vrut să recreez o pereche de cercei pe care am primit-o cadou aşa că am cumpărat câteva materiale simple şi m-am apucat de treabă.

La prima pereche a fost dificil să îmi dau seama cum să lucrez [nu i-am terminat nici până acum], dar am făcut destul de repede desene pentru alte modele. Câteva prietene au vrut să le vadă şi apoi şi-au dorit cercei, coliere, inele…

De unde te inspiri, cum îţi vin ideile pentru modele?
Cele mai multe dintre idei îmi vin din natură, de la oamenii din jurul meu. Găsesc o temă sau o stare pe care vreau sa o exprim. Am început fără nici o pregătire astfel că revistele si bijuteriile văzute în jur mă ajută să descopăr tehnici noi pe care nu le-am încercat înainte. Îmi place sa pun la un loc ideile mele cu ce descopăr de multe ori având rezultate frumoase.

Care este materialul preferat, ce iţi place să foloseşti la crearea pieselor?
Cristalele Swarowski sunt preferatele mele. Se găsesc într-o varietate de stiluri si culori atât de variate încât orice model de bijuterie la care mă gândesc devine posibil. Au o strălucire aparte pe care nu o găseşti la alte cristale. Pietrele preferate sunt „Piatra Lunii” şi Labradoritul datorită particularităţilor pe care le au. Sunt puţin dezamăgită că nu sunt folosite mai mult de bijutieri. Pentru alte modele, lucrez cu ce îmi pică în mână: pietre, mărgele, perle, lemn, scoici sau os, sârmă… Îmi place să folosesc o mare varietate de materiale şi asta se vede în piese. Nu îmi place să mă limitez la un stil sau la un anumit tip de bijuterie.

La ce te gândeşti când lucrezi la bijuterii? Ai dorinţe sau speranţe în ce priveşte rezultatele?
Sper să am la sfârşit ce mi-am propus. Vreau ca cei care vad bijuteria să simtă un fel de conexiune cu piesa respectivă. De cele mai multe ori ştiu de la început ce vreau să fac dar câteodată nu ştiu exact ce fac şi îmi dau seama la sfârşit când totul capătă sens. Să fac bijuterii este destul de des o metodă de relaxare.

Dacă ar fi să alegi o piesa preferată din tot ce ai lucrat, care ar fi?
„Melancolia iernii” cu siguranţă. Asta pentru că pe de o parte cerceii cu siguranţă prezintă nemişcarea şi dezolarea iernii dar pe de altă parte ascund promisiunea primăverii. Cât despre partea tehnică, piesa combină toate materialele preferate: cristale Swarowski, perle, Piatra Lunii şi fir negru de cupru. Nici nu a trebuit să mă gândesc la cercei, pur şi simplu s-a născut ideea în minte şi apoi mâinile au făcut totul.

Galeria artistului: www.themisfitdreamers.com/ sau http://fetalcryogenics.deviantart.com/

asha nagaiva

EN

When have you started creating jewels?
I started creating jewelry in December 2005. I wanted to recreate a pair of earrings I received, so I bought a few simple supplies and sequins and well, the rest is history. The first pair was rather difficult to figure out [and I never finished them], but I quickly made other designs. A few friends wanted to see them, and soon after wanted earrings, necklaces, anklets, rings..the list keeps growing and growing. And I have yet to finish the first pair of earrings for myself.

Do you get inspired from art, from dreams? How do you make your choice on the models?
Most of my inspiration comes from nature, the people around me, or a theme/mood I want to express. I’ve always been self taught from the start, but websites like DeviantArt, magazines, and of course the jewelry I see people wearing everyday provide new inspirations and techniques I’ve never seen or tried before. Also, I love taking my beads, findings, etc and spreading them out together. A lot of times I’ve found beautiful combinations this way.

What’s your favorite material? What do you like to use when creating these pieces of art?
My absolute favorite material to work with are Swarovski crystals. They come in such a huge array of styles and colors that any design you could dream up is possible. They sparkle and shine with a brilliance you can’t find in any other material. My favorite gemstones are Moonstone and Labradorite, I adore how unique these gems are. The finished pieces with these gems stand out, as well. I’m disappointed more artists don’t use them. For creating everything else, I love using anything I can get my hands on..gemstones, acrylic beads, natural beads [such as pearls, wood, shell, and bone], wire, findings..I love using a variety of materials and I think it shows in the pieces I make. I don’t like to limit myself to one style or genre of jewelry.

Can you tell me what you’re thinking of when you’re making them? Are there wishes or hopes about the finished pieces?
I hope that the piece conveys what I am trying to get across. I want my audience to feel some sort of connection when they see a piece of jewelry I’ve made. Often times I am just compelled to create; sometimes I’m not even sure myself of the meaning until I complete the piece, and then it all makes sense. Making jewelry is often a therapeutic exercise for me.

If you could pick any one piece from your gallery to be you absolute, all-time favorite…which one would it be and why?
[link] I simply adore this piece. I think the title sets the mood of the earrings, but what are they trying to say? There’s a couple of ways to interpret it..are they trying to convey the stillness and desolation of Winter itself, of are they hinting at the promise of Spring? I’ll leave it up to you to decide. As for the technical aspects of this piece, they combine all of my favorite materials: Swarovski crystals, freshwater pearls, moonstone, and black copper wire. I didn’t even have to think about these earrings, they just appeared in my head and out they came through my hands.

Short stuff about you?
I’m a graphic designer and illustrator, too. I mostly post digital pieces to DeviantArt but I paint and sketch all the time. Art is my passion and I love to create, whether it be pictures or jewelry or anything else that I make on a whim.

More images at: www.themisfitdreamers.com/ or fetalcryogenics.deviantart.com/

Filed under: Interviews, , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses

Leave a Reply

