Andrei Pavel

artist, nu blogger…

Intervew with James Julier

Picture

Cum este să fii capabil de atâta profunzime în imagini?

Mă încântă să pot detalia noi faţete ale lumii. În picturile mele îmi este greu să rezist în a nu pune detalii şi câteodată îmi doresc sa mă mulţumesc mai uşor.

Am observat că dacă am un subiect în faţă pot produce imagini foarte rapid. Totuşi, marele meu efort, elementul intensiv, este că multe imagini îmi vin din imaginaţie şi de obicei lucrez direct pe pânză, ceea ce înseamnă că trebuie să iau decizii tot timpul neştiind exact cât de departe voi ajunge. Combinând acest stil explorator cu dorinţa de a avea o imagine finalizată care are detalii semi foto-realistice  rezultă un echilibru care îmi încetineşte ritmul. Încerc constant să îmi satisfac nevoia de invenţie estetică şi explorare dar ca imaginea să aibă o coerenţă logică ce permite privitorului să păşească în imagine.

Ce te inspiră şi cum ai ales acest stil de exprimare artistică? Ştiu că ai lucrat intens la studiu şi detalii.

Natura mă inspiră şi este ca un fel de idilă descoperind profunzimea infinită şi frumuseţea care îmi încing imaginaţia. Desenul in diferitele aspecte mi-a format stilul şi m-a îndreptat către un mod de lucru care nu este o simpla copie sau reflecţie a unei anumite imagini vizibile ochiului ci să simt ritmul naturii astfel încât frumuseţea şi puterea ei să irumpă creaţia mea atunci când este creată din imaginaţie.

Spune-mi mai multe despre ideile tale şi despre cum vezi natura şi Universul.

Văd natura ca aspect fundamental a ceea ce suntem, CINE suntem. Natura nu este doar ceva drăguţ prin care să ne plimbăm sau documentarele despre viaţa sălbatică de la TV. Natura ne-a creat şi noi suntem natura însăşi, în concluzie  este datoria noastră şi singura opţiune raţională de  a găsi căi pentru a trăi în armonie cu ceea ce ne înconjoară şi originile noastre. Lumea este mult prea închistată în cultura modernă şi concentrată asupra diferenţelor din natură care ne separă şi ne face diferiţi în funcţie de înălţime, greutate, rasă etc. Asta este o mare parte a problemelor pe care le avem în lume la momentul actual. Cu cât mai repede începem să ne identificăm cu ceva dincolo de forma imediată a lucrurilor cu atât vom vedea că toate sunt conectate.     dilatation

Ce îţi place mai mult: desenul sau pictura?

Tehnica e doar o cale de a executa o imagine dar desenul a fost prima mea pasiune şi rămâne cea mai rapidă şi eficientă modalitate de exprimarea ideilor aşadar rămâne unealta mea preferată.

Ai proiecte recente sau pregăteşti ceva în viitorul apropiat?

Văd un motiv major în faptul că noi, ca specie, am creat un dezechilibru pe planetă şi în ecosisteme şi cumva ne-am separat de natură. Tehnologia caută mai degrabă să controleze forţele naturale decât să creeze o armonie. Astfel că îmi propun să prezint o viziune a formelor tehnologice făcute de om de om care să caute măcar estetic armonia cu natura. Sper ca aceste imagini să atenueze linia dintre tehnologie şi natură. Am o viziune a oamenilor care să fie o extensie atât practică, cât şi estetică prin formă şi funcţie pentru a restabili echilibrul.

Galeria artistului: http://www.jamesleejulier.com sau http://www.axis432.deviantart.com/

EN
What is like to be able to add such depth to these pieces?

It excites me greatly to be able to flesh out new worlds in detail. With my paintings however, I find it difficult to resist adding more and more detail and sometimes I wish that i could be satisfied working more loosely. This stems from frustration at how labour intensive my images end up being; I find that if I have a subject in front of me that I can study and work from then I am capable of producing images very rapidly. However, The labour intensive element for me is that most of my images are invented from my imagination, usually for the first time, straight onto the canvas. This means that i have to make all sorts of decisions as I go along, not knowing what I am ultimately heading towards. Combining this exploratory, automatic style of working with a desire to render the image in way that has depth of detail in a semi photo-realistic way, means that its a balancing act that sometimes slows my production down. I am constantly trying satisfy the need for aesthetic invention and exploration as well as a commitment for the image to have a coherent logic that allows the viewer to ‘step into’ the image.

emergenceWhat inspires you and how come you chose this  way of artistic expression? I know you worked a lot on studies and details.

Nature inspires me and it is this love affair with discovering its infinite depth and beauty that fires my imagination. My close study of its various aspects, has greatly informed my style and it has been my aim to create work that is not simply a reflection or a copy of a specific image visible to my eyes, but to feel the rhythm of nature so that its power and beauty spring forth into my work when created solely from imagination.

Tell me some more about your ideas and the way you see nature and universe.

I see nature as a fundamental aspect of who WE are. Nature is not just a pretty thing to walk through on a sunday afternoon stroll or to watch on TV wildlife documentaries. Nature is our creator and we are nature itself. Therefore it is our duty and our only rational option to find ways to exist in harmony with the rest of nature and our origins. People are trained far too much in modern day cultures to focus upon the variations in nature that separate us and make us different i.e. height, weight, gender, race, age etc etc. This is a major part of why we have so many problems in our world. As soon as we begin to identify with something beyond the immediate forms of things then we start to see that everything is connected. We may see that we are all pure consciousness once we see beyond the many distracting forms of the vessels of life and as such we may see that we are all one. I understand ‘god’ to be this pure consciousness that animates and gives life to the world and I see our atonement will come when we transcend these perceptions of division with god and recognise our oneness. Our journey towards god is a journey within ourselves and our at-one-ment will come when we identify with the infinite and eternal consciousness of god recognising that we are all one and the same in that image.

What do you like more: drawing v.s  painting? Or are you combining the, drawing and painting over?

For me the medium is merely a technicality and a way of executing an image, but I suppose that drawing was my first love and is still now the most immediate and efficient way of expressing ideas and as such remains my favourite tool.

Do you have recent projects or having new stuff coming?

I see a major reason that we as a species have created so much imbalance on the planet and to our ecosystems is that we see ourselves as separate from nature. Our technology seeks to control and subvert the natural forces rather than work in balance with it. This can even be seen in the many jarring and angular man-made forms of technology that visually demonstrate this will to disrupt and cut through the organic systems. Therefore I am aiming to present a vision of man-made technology that at least aesthetically seeks to work in harmony with the rhythms of nature. It is hoped that I may create images that help blur the line between technology and nature and in some small part contribute towards this necessary objective. I have a vision of mans creation being an extension of natures work in such a way that, both practically and aesthetically, both form and function are made to serve the greater objective of working in harmony with nature, restoring balance.

More images at: http://www.jamesleejulier.com or http://www.axis432.deviantart.com/

Filed under: Interviews, ,

One Response

  1. Trackback says:

    Comentario…

    [..]Articulo Indexado Correctamente[..]…

Leave a Reply

